U2 Best of 1980′s-1990′s Album Review

Bookmark and Share


  1. Pride (In the Name of Love) (3:48)
  2. New Year’s Day (4:17)
  3. With or Without You (4:56)
  4. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For (4:38)
  5. Sunday Bloody Sunday (4:40)
  6. Bad (5:50)
  7. Where the Streets Have no Name (4:35)
  8. I Will Follow (3:36)
  9. The Unforgettable Fire (4:56)
  10. Sweetest Thing (3:00)
  11. Desire (2:59)
  12. When Love Comes to Town (4:17)
  13. Angel of Harlem (3:49)
  14. All I Want is You (6:31)
  15. October (2:20) (hidden track )

Click to Enlarge

If you are new to U2 or unfamiliar with their earlier work, then this album is perfect for you. It is the complete introduction to U2’s work from 1980 to 1990, with 15 tracks from their debut album, Boy to 1988’s Rattle and Hum. There are no real omissions to speak of, with U2’s most successful hits all present. No.1 hits ‘With or Without You’ and ‘I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For’, are part of 3 song from The Joshua Tree, while there are 4 song from Rattle and Hum, 2 from War and 3 from The Unforgettable Fire. There was also 1 each from Boy and October. There is one original track- ‘The Sweetest Thing’, which is a B-Side on ‘Where the Streets Have No name’ and is a gorgeously sweet song (dedicated by Bono to his wife when he forgot her birthday)which fits in perfectly with the rest of the tracks.

U2’s willingness to experiment throughout the 80’s is prevalent in the contrast of all the songs on this album. On one hand we have the rebellious rock anthem ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’, on the other is the soulful ballad, ‘With or Without You’, and again this contrasts with the more bluesy ‘When Love Comes To Town’. It’s a great compilation and it showcased U2’s wide and varied sound during the 80’s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>